Faculty - listed by Department:
Botany | Earth, Ocean & Atmospheric Sciences | Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries | Forest Resources and Management| Forest Sciences | Geography | Institute for Resources, Environment, and Sustainability | Faculty of Land and Food Systems | Microbiology and Immunology | Wood Science |Zoology | BRAES Institute - UBC Okanagan | Other | Emeritus

Department of Botany
Keith Adams
Plant molecular and genomic evolution, with a focus on polyploidy and hybridization
keitha@mail.ubc.ca
Amy Angert    joint with Zoology
Plant evolutionary ecology; geographic range limits and rarity; population dynamics and community structure
amy.angert@botany.ubc.ca
Mary Berbee
Molecular phylogenetic studies of fungi and evolution of fungal life history strategies
berbee@mail.ubc.ca
Gary Bradfield
Structure and dynamics of tidal marsh and coniferous forest vegetation, including disturbance responses at the community and landscape scales
garyb@mail.ubc.ca
Bridgette Clarkston    joint with Zoology
seaweed biodiversity and systematics
bclarkston@csumb.edu
Quentin Cronk
Plant evolutionary-developmental biology
quentin.cronk@ubc.ca
Naomi Fast
Evolutionary biology of protozoa with a focus on the evolution of parasitism
nfast@mail.ubc.ca
Sean Graham
Phylogenetic analyses of plants and the evolution of plant traits
swgraham@mail.ubc.ca
Mike Hawkes
Seaweed natural history, biogeography, reproductive biology and systematics; marine protected areas; the biology and horticulture of succulent plants
mhawkes@mail.ubc.ca
Patrick Keeling    Associate Director
Early eukaryote evolution, molecular phylogeny, protistology
pkeeling@mail.ubc.ca
Sandra Lindstrom
Biogeography, phylogeny and systematics of seaweeds, with emphasis on the northeast Pacific flora.
Sandra.Lindstrom@botany.ubc.ca
Patrick Martone
Biomechanics, functional morphology, and evolution of marine macroalgae, especially calcified coralline algae
patrick.martone@botany.ubc.ca
Laura Wegener Parfrey
Microbial ecology of eukaryotic communities; Diversity of eukaryotes in the human microbiome; †Protistology.†
lwparfrey@botany.ubc.ca
Loren Rieseberg    Director
Speciation, domestication, conservation biology, and weed evolution
loren.rieseberg@botany.ubc.ca
Jeannette Whitton
Plant molecular systematic and evolution; the evolution of asexual polyploid complexes in higher plants
jeannette.whitton@botany.ubc.ca

Department of Earth, Ocean & Atmospheric Sciences
back to top
Curtis Suttle    joint with Botany and Microbiology
The biology of viruses that infect marine phytoplankton and bacteria, and the role of these viruses in population dynamics and geochemical cycles
csuttle@eos.ubc.ca

Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries
back to top
William W.L. Cheung
Vulnerability and responses of marine biodiversity, ecosystems and fisheries to climate change and other human stressors; exploring options for mitigation and adaptation.
w.cheung@oceans.ubc.ca
Villy Christensen
Modeling aquatic ecosystems - past, present and future; impact on biodiversity of seafood demand - interactions between fisheries, aquaculture and land use; global biodiversity assessments
v.christensen@oceans.ubc.ca
Daniel Pauly    joint with Zoology
Management of fisheries, and ecosystem modeling
d.pauly@oceans.ubc.ca
Tony J. Pitcher    joint with Zoology
Impacts of fishing on aquatic ecosystems and how exploitation may be reconciled with the preservation of their biodiversity and functioning, the development of techniques for assessing the status of fisheries
t.pitcher@oceans.ubc.ca
Rashid Sumaila
Ocean and fisheries economics
r.sumaila@oceans.ubc.ca
Andrew W. Trites
Population biology and bioenergetics of Steller sea lions; interactions between marine mammals and commercial fisheries
a.trites@oceans.ubc.ca
Amanda Vincent
Marine conservation, using seahorses to focus efforts in finding marine conservation solutions
a.vincent@oceans.ubc.ca

Department of Forest Resources and Management
back to top
Cole Burton
ecology, conservation and monitoring of terrestrial mammal communities
cole.burton@ubc.ca
Nicholas Coops
Remote sensing of forest vegetation, ecosystem and carbon accumulation modeling of biodiversity
nicholas.coops@ubc.ca

Department of Forest and Conservation Sciences
back to top
Sally Aitken
Forest Genetics; adapting gene resource management to climate change; population genomics of cold adaptation
sally.aitken@ubc.ca
Peter Arcese
Population demography and genetics of birds; biogeography of native plant and animal communities; adaptive management and monitoring of rare species and ecosystems
peter.arcese@ubc.ca
Sarah Gergel
Landscape ecology & conservation
sarah.gergel@ubc.ca
Kathy Martin
Ecology of alpine and forest birds
kathy.martin@ubc.ca
John Richardson
Structure and dynamics of freshwater communities
john.richardson@ubc.ca
Kermit Ritland
Plant mating systems, statistical methods for genetic data, genomics
kermit.ritland@ubc.ca

Department of Geography
back to top
Simon Donner
Climate change, coral reefs, nutrient cycling, ecological tradeoffs
simon.donner@ubc.ca
Greg Henry
Tundra ecosystems; climate change effects on biodiversity; arctic plant communities; biogeography
greg.henry@ubc.ca
Jennifer Williams
population dynamics & spread, mainly in plants; life history evolution; species interactions; invasive plants; biogeography
jennifer.williams@geog.ubc.ca

Institute for Resources, Environment, and Sustainability
back to top
Kai Chan
Ecosystem services and biodiversity; the ecological and evolutionary underpinnings of invasions and infestations; and applied environmental ethics
kaichan@ires.ubc.ca

Faculty of Land and Food Systems
back to top
Juli Carrillo
plant-insect ecology, plant defense against herbivory, tri-trophic interactions, invasive species, domestication
juli.carrillo@ubc.ca
Hannah Wittman
Rural and environmental sociology; agrarian citizenship; food security and food sovereignty; community and rural development; agrarian political economy; social movements
hannah.wittman@ubc.ca

Department of Microbiology and Immunology
back to top
J. Thomas Beatty
The genetics of photosynthetic bacteria, with an emphasis on gene structure and regulation of expression, and protein structure and function. Ecological activities of photosynthetic bacteria
j.beatty@ubc.ca
Cara Haney
Plant-microbiome interactions
cara.haney@msl.ubc.ca
Bill Mohn
Dynamics and functioning of microbial communities and bacterial catabolism
william.mohn@ubc.ca

Department of Wood Science
back to top
Shawn Mansfield
Functional plant genomics; molecular biology of major conserved plant biosynthetic pathways
shawn.mansfield@ubc.ca

Department of Zoology
back to top
Martin L. Adamson
Evolutionary biology of parasites
adamson@zoology.ubc.ca
Doug Altshuler
Integrative biology of animal flight
doug@zoology.ubc.ca
Leticia Avilés
Multilevel selection in social organisms and life history evolution
laviles@zoology.ubc.ca
Colin J. Brauner
Comparative physiology and the physiology of environmental adaptation, predominantly in fish
brauner@zoology.ubc.ca
Michael Doebeli    joint with Math
Mathematical models in evolutionary ecology
doebeli@zoology.ubc.ca
Chris Harley
Climate change impacts on rocky coasts; how climatic factors, and biological relationships, interact to create ecological patterns in time and space
harley@zoology.ubc.ca
Darren Irwin
Molecular, behavioral, and field-based approaches to understanding speciation in birds
irwin@zoology.ubc.ca
Jill Jankowski
Ecology of tropical and temperate bird communities; influence of abiotic and biotic interactions on range boundaries, community assembly and diversity
jankowski@zoology.ubc.ca
Brian Leander    joint with Botany
Marine invertebrate zoology & protozoology; evolutionary morphology & molecular phylogenetics
bleander@mail.ubc.ca
Wayne P. Maddison    joint with Botany
Phylogenetic analyses; the evolution of jumping spiders
wayne.maddison@ubc.ca
Mary O'Connor    Associate Director
Marine ecology; influence of environmental temperature on ecological communities; dispersal patterns and predation in marine environments
oconnor@zoology.ubc.ca
Sarah (Sally) Otto
The evolution of life cycles and genetic systems
otto@zoology.ubc.ca
Matthew Pennell
Phylogenetics, comparative methods, macroevolution, macroecology, and informatics tools for the biodiversity sciences
pennell@zoology.ubc.ca
Rosemary J. Redfield
Evolution of genetic exchange systems, especially in bacteria
redfield@zoology.ubc.ca
Jeffrey Richards
Comparative Physiology
jrichard@zoology.ubc.ca
Dolph Schluter
Natural selection and character evolution in nature
schluter@zoology.ubc.ca
Patricia Schulte
Gene regulation and the evolution of physiological responses to environmental change
pschulte@zoology.ubc.ca
Diane Srivastava
Experimental tests of ecological diversity theory using natural microcosm communities
srivast@zoology.ubc.ca
Eric B. (Rick) Taylor    Director, Beaty Biodiversity Museum
Evolutionary ecology, population genetics, and conservation of fishes
etaylor@zoology.ubc.ca
Michelle Tseng    joint with Botany
Evolution of ecological communities; experimental evolution of algae and invertebrates; rapid adaptation to environmental change
mtseng@zoology.ubc.ca
Michael Whitlock
Evolution in structured populations
whitlock@zoology.ubc.ca

BRAES Institute - UBC Okanagan
back to top
Adam T. Ford
Landscape connectivity, road ecology, human-wildlife conflict, and trophic cascades, with an emphasis on large carnivores and ungulates
adam.ford@ubc.ca
Karen Hodges
How habitat types and configurations affect species interactions and endangerment of at-risk species; population dynamics at the periphery of speciesí ranges
karen.hodges@ubc.ca
John Klironomos
Plant, fungal, and soil ecology
john.klironomos@ubc.ca
Lael Parrott
complex human-environment systems; ecological complexity; regional-scale landscape modelling; social-ecological networks; agent and individual-based modelling approaches; landscape science and scenario building
lael.parrott@ubc.ca
Jason Pither
Exploring causes of biodiversity patterns, especially beta diversity, to inform conservation strategies.
jason.pither@ubc.ca
Michael A. Russello
Molecular approaches to species conservation, adaptation to changing environments, mechanisms of invasion success
michael.russello@ubc.ca

Other
back to top
Hannes Dempewolf
Research Affiliate: Evolution, maintenance and conservation of agro-biodiversity, management and conservation of plant genetic resources, crop evolution, sustainable development
handem@biodiversity.ubc.ca
Michelle Evelyn
Research Affiliate
mjevelyn@gmail.com
Ted Gullison
Hardner & Gullison Associates, LLC: Protected area design and management, conservation program evaluation, and corporate biodiversity management
ted@hg-llc.com
Mark Vellend
Adjunct Professor
mark.vellend@usherbrooke.ca

Emeritus (not accepting students)
back to top
Thomas H. Carefoot    Emeritus, Department of Zoology
Feeding, nutrition, and energetics of marine snails and isopods. I am presently developing a broadly based educational website on west-coast marine invertebrates.
carefoot@zoology.ubc.ca
J. Davies    Emeritus, Department of Microbiology and Immunology
The biology of antibiotics (discovery, production, function, and resistance). Mechanisms of horizontal gene transfer. Environmental microbiology (genomics, metagenomics)
jed@interchange.ubc.ca
Rob DeWreede    Emeritus, Department of Botany
Ecology of marine macro-algae, in both temperate and tropical habitats
dewreede@mail.ubc.ca
Fred Ganders    Emeritus, Department of Botany
Plant biosystematics and evolution
ganders@interchange.ubc.ca
A. J. F. Griffiths    Emeritus, Department of Botany
Developmental genetics of a saprophytic filamentous fungus, Neurospora crassa
agriff@interchange.ubc.ca
Charles J. Krebs    Emeritus, Department of Zoology
Population dynamics in mammals
krebs@zoology.ubc.ca
Al Lewis    Emeritus, Department of Earth, Ocean, & Atmospheric Sciences
Plankton diversity and distribution
alewis@eos.ubc.ca
N. Robin Liley    Emeritus, Department of Zoology
Behavioral and sperm competition among male salmonids
liley@zoology.ubc.ca
J. Donald McPhail    Emeritus, Department of Zoology
Speciation and evolution in threespine sticklebacks
mcphail@zoology.ubc.ca
Sandra Millen    Emeritus, Department of Zoology
Biodiversity, ecology and systematics of invertebrates, in particular the Opisthobranch Molluscs, and evolutionary morphology
millen@zoology.ubc.ca
Judith H. Myers    Emeritus, Department of Zoology
Insect population ecology, biological control, evolution of insecticide resistance
myers@zoology.ubc.ca
William E. Neill    Emeritus, Department of Zoology
Structure and dynamics of freshwater communities
neill@zoology.ubc.ca
William Ramey    Emeritus, Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Microbial metabolism of populations active for waste water remediation; NADH metabolism
wramey@interchange.ubc.ca
Geoffrey G. E. Scudder    Emeritus, Department of Zoology
Systematics, faunistics, biogeography, biodiversity and conservation biology
scudder@zoology.ubc.ca
A. R. E. Sinclair    Emeritus, Department of Zoology
Processes in the dynamics of ecosystems, comparing natural and human disturbed habitats
sinclair@zoology.ubc.ca
George Spiegelman    Emeritus, Department of Microbiology
Mechanisms that regulate gene expression using a prokaryotic organism, Bacillus subtilis, as a model
spie@interchange.ubc.ca
I. E. P. Taylor   Emeritus, Department of Botany
Scientific responsibility and risk assessment in plant biotechnology, plant cell wall biophysics
iepiep@interchange.ubc.ca
F. J. R. Taylor    Emeritus, Department of Earth and Ocean Sciences
The study of marine phytoplankton, particularly dinoflagellates, the ecology of "red tide"
maxt@eos.ubc.ca
Roy Turkington    Emeritus, Department of Botany
Experimental field tests of the determinants of community structure: competition, stress, disturance. Field tests of ecological theory: top-down and bottom-up control of vegetation; productivity gradients.
royt@mail.ubc.ca
Carl Walters    Emeritus, Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries    joint with Zoology
Applied ecology and fisheries management
c.walters@oceans.ubc.ca
back back to top
Members in the News
Office directory
ubc.ca

© Biodiversity Research Centre - UBC | site credits