Postdoctoral Fellows
Fellowship Opportunity
The next application deadline is January 13, 2016.  

We seek applicants for a 2-year postdoctoral fellowship in the U.B.C. Biodiversity Research Centre (www.biodiversity.ubc.ca). The Centre is made up of over 50 faculty members with interests in ecology, evolution, systematics, biodiversity and conservation. Preference will be given to candidates with bold ideas, demonstrated research ability, and strong communication skills. The successful candidate will be expected to conduct original research on core problems in biodiversity, foster interactions within the Centre, run a seminar series, and organize a retreat. Postdoctoral fellows funded by the Biodiversity Research Centre typically interact with several lab groups. Candidates are welcome to contact potential collaborating labs in the Centre to inquire about current and potential research activities, but it is not necessary to apply to work with a specific faculty member.  

Starting date, 1 September 2016.
Salary $48,000 per yr.
Research stipend: $7,000 per yr.
Send curriculum vitae, three letters of reference, and a statement of overall scientific goals and interests (approximately 2 pages) to the address below. Applications and Reference letters will be accepted electronically; reference letters must be sent directly by the referee.
Search Chair, Biodiversity Research Centre, U.B.C.,
6270 University Blvd., Vancouver, B.C., Canada V6T 1Z4.
(Fax 604-822-2416, e-mail biodiversity.centre
@ubc.ca).
Closing date for application, 13 January 2016.

The University of British Columbia hires on the basis of merit and is committed to employment equity. We encourage all qualified candidates to apply.


Current Biodiversity Postdoctoral Fellowship Recipients


Anna Hargreaves - alhargreaves@biodiversity.ubc.ca

"I study the ecology, evolution, and geographic importance of species interactions, and how these and other ecological and evolutionary processes shape species distributions, both now and in a rapidly changing future.."

For more information, visit Dr. Hargreaves's website.


Chris Muir - cdmuir@biodiversity.ubc.ca

"I am interested in the mechanistic basis of adaptation to different environments, especially in plants. I also moonlight as a theoretician, allowing me to address a much broader range of questions in evolutionary ecology."

For more information, visit Dr. Muir's website.

Jennifer Sunday - sunday@biodiversity.ubc.ca

"I seek to transform our understanding of how species will respond to climate change. My goal is to develop and test theory that can produce meaningful predictions of how species and ecosystems will change."

For more information, visit Dr. Sunday's website.


Past Biodiversity Postdoctoral Fellowship Recipients
Juan Santos
2012-14
College of Life Sciences
Brigham Young University
jcsantos@biodiversity.ubc.ca
Elizabeth Wolkovich
2012-13
Department of Organismic & Evolutionary Biology
Harvard University
wolkovich@fas.harvard.edu
Florence Débarre
2011-13
Collège de France
Paris, France
florence.debarre@normalesup.org
Thor Veen
2010-13
Department of Statistics
University of British Columbia
veen@biodiversity.ubc.ca
Jill Jankowski
2010-12
Department of Zoology
University of British Columbia
jankowsk@biodiversity.ubc.ca
Nathan Kraft
2009-11
Department of Biology
University of Maryland
nkraft@umd.edu
Mike Barker
2009-10
Dept. Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
University of Arizona
msbarker@email.arizona.edu
Will Cornwell
2007-2009
School of Biological, Earth, and Environmental Sciences
University of New South Wales
w.cornwell@unsw.edu.au
Luke Harmon
2005-2007
Department of Biological Sciences
University of Idaho
lukeh@uidaho.edu
Ross Thompson
2003-2005
School of Biological Sciences
Monash University
ross.thompson@monash.edu
Jessica Hellman
2001-2003
Department of Biological Sciences
University of Notre Dame
hellmann.3@nd.edu
Lisa Manne
1999-2001
Department of Life Sciences
University of Toronto at Scarborough
manne@uts.utoronto.ca
Daniel Haydon
1997-1999
Department of Environmental and Evolutionary Biology
University of Glasgow
d.haydon@bio.gla.ac.uk
Jennifer Ruesink
1997-1999
Department of Biology
University of Washington
ruesink@u.washington.edu
Diane Srivastava
1997-1999
Department of Zoology
University of British Columbia
srivast@zoology.ubc.ca


back to top
Current Postdoctoral Fellows at UBC conducting research in Biodiversity
Natalia Bercovich Botany natalia.bercovich@gmail.com
Kazuhiro Bessho Zoology besshokazuhiro.research@gmail.com
Vittorio Bosscaro Botany vitto.boss@gmail.com
Fabien Burki Botany burkif@interchange.ubc.ca
Celine Caseys Botany celine.caseys@gmail.com
Cheryl Chow Earth, Ocean & Atmospheric Sciences cheryltchow@gmail.com
Gina Conte Zoology/Botany conte@zoology.ubc.ca
Javier del Campo Botany javier.delcampo@botany.ubc.ca
Jeremy Draghi Zoology jdraghi@gmail.com
Jeremy Draghi Zoology jdraghi@gmail.com
Armando Geraldes Botany geraldes@mail.ubc.ca
Min Hahn Botany min.hahn@gmx.ch
Thierry Heger Botany theger@interchange.ubc.ca
Elizabeth Hehenberger Botany elisabeth.hehenberger@botany.ubc.ca
Sylvia Heredia Botany mayam@interchange.ubc.ca
Maria Herranz Botany mherra02@ucm.es
Daisie Huang Botany daisieh@gmail.com
Sariel Huber Botany sariel.hubner@botany.ubc.ca
Michael Kantar Botany kant0063@umn.edu
Martin Kolisko Botany martin.kolisko@dal.ca
Chris Kopp Zoology ckopp@zoology.ubc.ca
Katie Marshall Zoology kmarshall@zoology.ubc.ca
Jessica Mckenzie Zoology mckenzie@zoology.ubc.ca
Matt Pennell Zoology mwpennell@gmail.com
Nathaniel Sharp Zoology sharp@zoology.ubc.ca
Evan Staton Botany statonse@gmail.com
Niels Steenkiste Botany Niels.VanSteenkiste@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Jurgen Strassert Botany strassert@protist.eu
Marco Todesco Botany marco.todesco@gmail.com
Michelle Tseng Zoology mtseng@zoology.ubc.ca
Naoji Yubuki Botany yubuki@mail.ubc.ca
Kevin Zhong Eart, Ocean & Atmospheric Sciences kevinzhong2006@gmail.com

back back
                                      to top



Members in the News

Alumni Spotlight

Office directory

BRITE Training Program

ubc.ca

Biodiversity Research Centre - UBC | site credits