Postdoctoral Fellows
Fellowship Opportunity
The next application round begins November 1, 2016. The deadline is January 13, 2017. (Applications are now under review. No late applications are accepted.)  

We seek applicants for a 2-year postdoctoral fellowship in the U.B.C. Biodiversity Research Centre (www.biodiversity.ubc.ca). The Centre is made up of over 60 faculty members with interests in ecology, evolution, systematics, biodiversity and conservation. Preference will be given to candidates with bold ideas, demonstrated research ability, and strong communication skills. The successful candidate will be expected to conduct original research on core problems in biodiversity, foster interactions within the Centre, run a seminar series, and organize a retreat. Postdoctoral fellows funded by the Biodiversity Research Centre typically interact with several lab groups. Candidates are welcome to contact potential collaborating labs in the Centre to inquire about current and potential research activities, but it is not necessary to apply to work with a specific faculty member.  

Starting date, 1 September 2017.
Salary $48,000 per yr.
Research stipend: $7,000 per yr.
Application requirements: curriculum vitae, a statement of overall scientific goals and interests (approximately 2 pages), and the names and contact information for three references

All of the material should be submitted to biodiversity.centre
@ubc.ca as a single PDF (please name your file using this format: Lastname_Firstname_PDF2017.pdf)
Closing date for application, 13 January 2017.

The University of British Columbia hires on the basis of merit and is committed to employment equity. We encourage all qualified candidates to apply. Equity and diversity are essential to academic excellence. An open and diverse community fosters the inclusion of voices that have been underrepresented or discouraged. We encourage applications from members of groups that have been marginalized on any grounds enumerated under the B.C. Human Rights Code, including sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, racialization, disability, political belief, religion, marital or family status, age, and/or status as a First Nation, Metis, Inuit, or Indigenous person.


Current Biodiversity Postdoctoral Fellowship Recipients
Benjamin Freeman (starting October 2017) - freeman@zoology.ubc.ca

"I am fascinated by latitudinal and elevational diversity gradients: Why do some regions have many species while others have few? I study the evolutionary and ecological processes that explain how diverse communities assemble."

For more information, visit Dr. Freeman's website.

Rachel Germain - rgermain@zoology.ubc.ca

"I seek to understand the ecological underpinnings of evolutionary divergence among populations and species, using insight from contemporary ecological theory."

For more information, visit Dr. Germain's website.

Stilianos Louca - louca@zoology.ubc.ca

"I am interested in microbial ecology and geomicrobiology. As a naturalist by philosophy, a physicist by methodology and a biologist by heart, I'm exploring the invisible world through biogeochemical models, numerical simulations and molecular techniques."

For more information, visit Dr. Louca's website.


Past Biodiversity Postdoctoral Fellowship Recipients
Jennifer Sunday
2013-17
University of Washington sunday@biodiversity.ubc.ca
Holly Moeller
2017
University of California, Santa Barbara moeller@zoology.ubc.ca
Anna Hargreaves
2015-17
McGill University alhargreaves@gmail.com
Chris Muir
2013-15
University of British Columbia cdmuir@biodiversity.ubc.ca
Juan Santos
2012-14
College of Life Sciences
Brigham Young University
infraguttatus@gmail.com
Elizabeth Wolkovich
2012-13
Department of Organismic & Evolutionary Biology
Harvard University
lizzie@oeb.harvard.edu
Florence Débarre
2011-13
Collège de France
Paris, France
florence.debarre@normalesup.org
Thor Veen
2010-13
Physical Sciences
Quest University
thor.veen@questu.ca
Jill Jankowski
2010-12
Department of Zoology
University of British Columbia
jankowsk@biodiversity.ubc.ca
Nathan Kraft
2009-11
Dept. of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
UCLA
nkraft@ucla.edu
Mike Barker
2009-10
Dept. Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
University of Arizona
msbarker@email.arizona.edu
Will Cornwell
2007-2009
School of Biological, Earth, and Environmental Sciences
University of New South Wales
w.cornwell@unsw.edu.au
Luke Harmon
2005-2007
Department of Biological Sciences
University of Idaho
lukeh@uidaho.edu
Ross Thompson
2003-2005
Institute for Applied Ecology, Director
University of Canberra
Ross.Thompson@canberra.edu.au
Jessica Hellman
2001-2003
Institute on the Environment, Director
University of Minnesota
hellmann@umn.edu
Lisa Manne
1999-2001
Department of Life Sciences
University of Toronto at Scarborough
manne@uts.utoronto.ca
Daniel Haydon
1997-1999
Department of Environmental and Evolutionary Biology
University of Glasgow
d.haydon@bio.gla.ac.uk
Jennifer Ruesink
1997-1999
Department of Biology
University of Washington
ruesink@u.washington.edu
Diane Srivastava
1997-1999
Department of Zoology
University of British Columbia
srivast@zoology.ubc.ca


back to top
Current Postdoctoral Fellows at UBC conducting research in Biodiversity (last updated September 2016)
Devin Arbuthnott Zoology darbuthnott@gmail.com
Rachel Bay Zoology rbay@zoology.ubc.ca
Natalia Bercovich Botany natalia.bercovich@gmail.com
Vittorio Bosscaro Botany vitto.boss@gmail.com
Gina Conte Zoology/Botany conte@zoology.ubc.ca
Julia Costa Botany julia.y.costa@gmail.com
Giulio Valentino Dalla Riva Zoology gvdr@zoology.ubc.ca
Javier del Campo Botany javier.delcampo@botany.ubc.ca
Ben Freeman Zoology freeman@zoology.ubc.ca
Lexuan Gao Botany lexuangao@hotmail.com
Ryan Gawryluk Botany ryan.gawryluk@gmail.com
Alyssa Gehman Zoology gehman@zoology.ubc.ca
Elizabeth Hehenberger Botany elisabeth.hehenberger@botany.ubc.ca
Sylvia Heredia Botany sylviah@biodiversity.ubc.ca
Maria Herranz Botany mherra02@ucm.es
Ivana Imerovski Botany ivana.imerovski@gmail.com
Ana Karnkowska Botany anna.karnkowska@gmail.com
Martin Kolisko Botany martin.kolisko@dal.ca
Chris Kopp Botany ckopp@zoology.ubc.ca
Lenka Kuglerova Forest & Conservation Sciences lenka.kuglerova@gmail.com
Julie Lee-Yaw Botany lee-yaw@zoology.ubc.ca
Stilianos Louca Zoology stilianos.Louca@gmail.com
Jessica Mckenzie Zoology mckenzie@zoology.ubc.ca
Noriko Okamoto Botany okamoton@mail.ubc.ca
Greg Owens Botany gregory.owens@alumni.ubc.ca
Marius Roesti Zoology roesti@zoology.ubc.ca
Rhea Sanders Botany rhea.smith@hakai.org
Nathaniel Sharp Zoology sharp@zoology.ubc.ca
Ahmed A. H. Siddig Forest & Conservation Sciences asiddig@eco.umass.edu
Evan Staton Botany statonse@gmail.com
Niels Steenkiste Botany Niels.VanSteenkiste@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Patrick Thompson Zoology patrickthompson9@gmail.com
Marco Todesco Botany marco.todesco@gmail.com
Michelle Tseng Zoology mtseng@zoology.ubc.ca
Kevin Zhong Eart, Ocean & Atmospheric Sciences kevinzhong2006@gmail.com

back back
                                      to top



Members in the News

Alumni Spotlight

Office directory

BRITE Training Program

ubc.ca

Biodiversity Research Centre - UBC | site credits