Postdoctoral Fellows
Fellowship Opportunity
The next application deadline is January 13, 2016.  

As a part of our NSERC CREATE training program in biodiversity research, we seek applicants for a 2-year postdoctoral fellowship in the U.B.C. Biodiversity Research Centre (www.biodiversity.ubc.ca). The Centre is made up of over 50 faculty members with interests in ecology, evolution, systematics, biodiversity and conservation. Preference will be given to candidates with bold ideas, demonstrated research ability, and strong communication skills. The successful candidate will be expected to conduct original research on core problems in biodiversity, foster interactions within the Centre, run a seminar series, and organize a retreat. Postdoctoral fellows funded by the Biodiversity Research Centre typically interact with several lab groups. Candidates are welcome to contact potential collaborating labs in the Centre to inquire about current and potential research activities, but it is not necessary to apply to work with a specific faculty member.  

Starting date, 1 September 2014.
Salary $43,000 per yr.
Research stipend: $7,000 per yr.
Send curriculum vitae, three letters of reference, and a statement of overall scientific goals and interests (approximately 2 pages) to the address below. Applications and Reference letters will be accepted electronically; reference letters must be sent directly by the referee.
Search Chair, Biodiversity Research Centre, U.B.C.,
6270 University Blvd., Vancouver, B.C., Canada V6T 1Z4.
(Fax 604-822-2416, e-mail biodiversity.centre
@ubc.ca).
Closing date for application, 13 January 2014.

The University of British Columbia hires on the basis of merit and is committed to employment equity. We encourage all qualified candidates to apply.


Current Biodiversity Postdoctoral Fellowship Recipients

Chris Muir - cdmuir@biodiversity.ubc.ca

"I am interested in the mechanistic basis of adaptation to different environments, especially in plants. I also moonlight as a theoretician, allowing me to address a much broader range of questions in evolutionary ecology."

For more information, visit Dr. Muir's website.

Juan Santos - jcsantos@biodiversity.ubc.ca

"I am an integrative biologist studying complex phenotypes and historical biogeography. I am particularly interested in how ecological, evolutionary, and physiological factors determine the emergence of biological complexity and biodiversity. I address these questions using a charismatic non-model clade, the poison frog family (Dendrobatidae)."

For more information, visit Dr. Santos' website.

Jennifer Sunday - sunday@biodiversity.ubc.ca

"I seek to transform our understanding of how species will respond to climate change. My goal is to develop and test theory that can produce meaningful predictions of how species and ecosystems will change."

For more information, visit Dr. Sunday's website.


Past Biodiversity Postdoctoral Fellowship Recipients
Elizabeth Wolkovich
2012-13
Department of Organismic & Evolutionary Biology
Harvard University
wolkovich@fas.harvard.edu
Florence Debarre
2011-13
Centre for Ecology & Conservation
University of Exeter, UK
F.Debarre@exeter.ac.uk
Thor Veen
2010-13
Department of Statistics
University of British Columbia
veen@biodiversity.ubc.ca
Jill Jankowski
2010-12
Department of Zoology
University of British Columbia
jankowsk@biodiversity.ubc.ca
Nathan Kraft
2009-11
Department of Biology
University of Maryland (July 2012)
nkraft@umd.edu
Mike Barker
2009-10
Dept. Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
University of Arizona
msbarker@email.arizona.edu
Will Cornwell
2007-2009
Faculty of Earth and Life Sciences
VU University Amsterdam
will.cornwell@falw.vu.nl
Luke Harmon
2005-2007
Department of Biological Sciences
University of Idaho
lukeh@uidaho.edu
Ross Thompson
2003-2005
School of Biological Sciences
Monash University
ross.thompson@sci.monash.edu.au
Jessica Hellman
2001-2003
Department of Biological Sciences
University of Notre Dame
hellmann.3@nd.edu
Lisa Manne
1999-2001
Department of Life Sciences
University of Toronto at Scarborough
manne@uts.utoronto.ca
Daniel Haydon
1997-1999
Department of Environmental and Evolutionary Biology
University of Glasgow
d.haydon@bio.gla.ac.uk
Jennifer Ruesink
1997-1999
Department of Biology
University of Washington
ruesink@u.washington.edu
Diane Srivastava
1997-1999
Department of Zoology
University of British Columbia
srivast@zoology.ubc.ca


back to top
Current Postdoctoral Fellows at UBC conducting research in Biodiversity
Rose Andrew Botany roselorien@gmail.com
Christa Beckmann Forest Sciences cbeckmann@hotmail.com
Rene Beyers Zoology beyers@zoology.ubc.ca
Kristina Cockle Forest Sciences kristinacockle@gmail.com
Allan DeBono Botany allan.debono@gmail.com
Florence Debarre Zoology fdebarre@zoology.ubc.ca
Hannes Dempewolf Botany handem@biodiversity.ubc.ca
Dan Ebert Botany dpebert@gmail.com
Armando Geraldes Botany geraldes@mail.ubc.ca
Navdeep Gill Botany navdeep.gill@botany.ubc.ca
Thierry Heger Botany theger@interchange.ubc.ca
Kay Hodgins Zoology hodgins@zoology.ubc.ca
Trent Hoover Forest Sciences trent.hoover@gmail.com
Nolan Kane Botany nckane@gmail.com
Katie E. Lotterhos Zoology klott@zoology.ubc.ca
Rebecca G. Martone Inst. Resources, Environment and Sustainability rebecca.martone@gmail.com
Isabel Marques Botany isabel.ic@gmail.com
Noriko Okamoto Botany okamoton@interchange.ubc.ca
Heather Piwowar Zoology piwowar@zoology.ubc.ca
Sebastien Renaut Botany sebastien.renaut@gmail.com
Hugo Robles Diez Forest Sciences hugo.roblesdiez@ua.ac.be
Heather Rowe Botany roweheat@gmail.com
Juan Saldarriaga Botany jsalda@interchange.ubc.ca
David R. Smith Botany smithdr@dal.ca
Adrian Stier Zoology astier@biodiversity.ubc.ca
Vera Tai Botany vera.tai@botany.ubc.ca
Sabrina Taylor Centre for Applied Conservation Research, Forest Sciences Sabrina.Taylor@ubc.ca
Michelle Tseng Zoology mtseng@zoology.ubc.ca
Christian Winter Earth & Ocean Sciences cwinter@eos.ubc.ca
Ji Yong Yang Botany albertoyang@yahoo.com
Sam Yeaman Botany yeaman@zoology.ubc.ca
Naoji Yubuki Botany yubuki@mail.ubc.ca

back back to top



Members in the News
Office directory
ubc.ca

© Biodiversity Research Centre - UBC | site credits