Postdoctoral Fellows
Fellowship Opportunity
The next application round begins November 1, 2017. The deadline is January 13, 2018.  

We seek applicants for a 2-year postdoctoral fellowship in the U.B.C. Biodiversity Research Centre (www.biodiversity.ubc.ca). The Centre is made up of over 50 faculty members with interests in ecology, evolution, systematics, biodiversity and conservation. Preference will be given to candidates with bold ideas, demonstrated research ability, and strong communication skills. The successful candidate will be expected to conduct original research on core problems in biodiversity, foster interactions within the Centre, run a seminar series, and organize a retreat. Postdoctoral fellows funded by the Biodiversity Research Centre typically interact with several lab groups. Candidates are welcome to contact potential collaborating labs in the Centre to inquire about current and potential research activities, but it is not necessary to apply to work with a specific faculty member.  

Starting date, 1 September 2018.
Salary $48,000 per yr.
Research stipend: $7,000 per yr.
Send curriculum vitae, three letters of reference, and a statement of overall scientific goals and interests (approximately 2 pages) to the address below. Applications and Reference letters will be accepted electronically; reference letters must be sent directly by the referee.
Search Chair, Biodiversity Research Centre, U.B.C.,
6270 University Blvd., Vancouver, B.C., Canada V6T 1Z4.
(e-mail biodiversity.centre
@ubc.ca).
Closing date for application, 13 January 2018.

The University of British Columbia hires on the basis of merit and is committed to employment equity. We encourage all qualified candidates to apply.


Current Biodiversity Postdoctoral Fellowship Recipients
Rachel Germain (arriving September 2016) - rm.gerlame@gmail.com

"I seek to understand the ecological underpinnings of evolutionary divergence among populations and species, using insight from contemporary ecological theory."

For more information, visit Rachel's website.

Anna Hargreaves - alhargreaves@biodiversity.ubc.ca

"I study the ecology, evolution, and geographic importance of species interactions, and how these and other ecological and evolutionary processes shape species distributions, both now and in a rapidly changing future.."

For more information, visit Dr. Hargreaves's website.

Jennifer Sunday - sunday@biodiversity.ubc.ca

"I seek to transform our understanding of how species will respond to climate change. My goal is to develop and test theory that can produce meaningful predictions of how species and ecosystems will change."

For more information, visit Dr. Sunday's website.


Past Biodiversity Postdoctoral Fellowship Recipients
Chris Muir
2013-15
University of British Columbia cdmuir@biodiversity.ubc.ca
Juan Santos
2012-14
College of Life Sciences
Brigham Young University
infraguttatus@gmail.com
Elizabeth Wolkovich
2012-13
Department of Organismic & Evolutionary Biology
Harvard University
lizzie@oeb.harvard.edu
Florence Débarre
2011-13
Collège de France
Paris, France
florence.debarre@normalesup.org
Thor Veen
2010-13
Department of Statistics
University of British Columbia
veen@biodiversity.ubc.ca
Jill Jankowski
2010-12
Department of Zoology
University of British Columbia
jankowsk@biodiversity.ubc.ca
Nathan Kraft
2009-11
Dept. of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
UCLA
nkraft@ucla.edu
Mike Barker
2009-10
Dept. Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
University of Arizona
msbarker@email.arizona.edu
Will Cornwell
2007-2009
School of Biological, Earth, and Environmental Sciences
University of New South Wales
w.cornwell@unsw.edu.au
Luke Harmon
2005-2007
Department of Biological Sciences
University of Idaho
lukeh@uidaho.edu
Ross Thompson
2003-2005
Institute for Applied Ecology, Director
University of Canberra
Ross.Thompson@canberra.edu.au
Jessica Hellman
2001-2003
Institute on the Environment, Director
University of Minnesota
hellmann@umn.edu
Lisa Manne
1999-2001
Department of Life Sciences
University of Toronto at Scarborough
manne@uts.utoronto.ca
Daniel Haydon
1997-1999
Department of Environmental and Evolutionary Biology
University of Glasgow
d.haydon@bio.gla.ac.uk
Jennifer Ruesink
1997-1999
Department of Biology
University of Washington
ruesink@u.washington.edu
Diane Srivastava
1997-1999
Department of Zoology
University of British Columbia
srivast@zoology.ubc.ca


back to top
Current Postdoctoral Fellows at UBC conducting research in Biodiversity (last updated April 2016)
Devin Arbuthnott Zoology darbuthnott@gmail.com
Rachel Bay Zoology rbay@zoology.ubc.ca
Natalia Bercovich Botany natalia.bercovich@gmail.com
Vittorio Bosscaro Botany vitto.boss@gmail.com
Dylan Burge Botany dylan.o.burge@gmail.com
Celine Caseys Botany celine.caseys@gmail.com
Gina Conte Zoology/Botany conte@zoology.ubc.ca
Giulio Valentino Dalla Riva Zoology gvdr@zoology.ubc.ca
Javier del Campo Botany javier.delcampo@botany.ubc.ca
Ben Freeman Zoology freeman@zoology.ubc.ca
Lexuan Gao Botany lexuangao@hotmail.com
Ryan Gawryluk Botany ryan.gawryluk@gmail.com
Min Hahn Botany min.hahn@gmx.ch
Thierry Heger Botany theger@interchange.ubc.ca
Elizabeth Hehenberger Botany elisabeth.hehenberger@botany.ubc.ca
Sylvia Heredia Botany mayam@interchange.ubc.ca
Maria Herranz Botany mherra02@ucm.es
Ana Karnkowska Botany anna.karnkowska@gmail.com
Martin Kolisko Botany martin.kolisko@dal.ca
Chris Kopp Botany ckopp@zoology.ubc.ca
Lenka Kuglerova Forest & Conservation Sciences lenka.kuglerova@gmail.com
Julie Lee-Yaw Botany lee-yaw@zoology.ubc.ca
Katie Marshall Zoology kmarshall@zoology.ubc.ca
Jessica Mckenzie Zoology mckenzie@zoology.ubc.ca
Noriko Okamoto Botany okamoton@mail.ubc.ca
Matt Pennell Zoology mwpennell@gmail.com
Marius Roesti Zoology roesti@zoology.ubc.ca
Rhea Sanders Botany rhea.smith@hakai.org
Nathaniel Sharp Zoology sharp@zoology.ubc.ca
Ahmed A. H. Siddig Forest & Conservation Sciences asiddig@eco.umass.edu
Evan Staton Botany statonse@gmail.com
Niels Steenkiste Botany Niels.VanSteenkiste@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Jurgen Strassert Botany strassert@protist.eu
Marco Todesco Botany marco.todesco@gmail.com
Michelle Tseng Zoology mtseng@zoology.ubc.ca
Naoji Yubuki Botany yubuki@mail.ubc.ca
Kevin Zhong Eart, Ocean & Atmospheric Sciences kevinzhong2006@gmail.com

back back
                                      to top



Members in the News

Alumni Spotlight

Office directory

BRITE Training Program

ubc.ca

Biodiversity Research Centre - UBC | site credits